Mariners win A-League minor premiership - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Mariners win A-League minor premiership

By Philip Henderson 20/01/2008 09:13:25 PM Comments (0)

Central Coast have claimed the A-League minor premiership after a dramatic final day to the regular season.

The Mariners, 2-0 winners over Wellington on Saturday, held on to top spot after Sydney FC and Queensland Roar both failed to win their final games on Sunday.

Sydney FC drew 2-2 with Melbourne Victory in front of a season-best 33,458-strong crowd at Sydney Football Stadium while Queensland Roar were shock 2-0 losers against Adelaide United.

Four clubs began the final round tied on 31 points, but only Central Coast and Newcastle claimed victories, with the Mariners winning the league title - and a berth in the 2009 Asian Champions League - through a better goal difference.

The Jets, who beat Perth 2-1 on Friday, finished second, with Sydney third and the Roar fourth.

Sydney and Queensland will now face off in a two-legged elimination semi-final, with Central Coast and Newcastle playing in the major semi-final.

Under A-League rules, the winner of the major semi earns the right to host the grand final.

But despite the Mariners and Jets finishing one and two, the decider is unlikely to be played in either Gosford or Newcastle with the FFA understood to favour a Sydney final, likely at the Olympic Stadium or the SFS.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news