1970s rugby league team of decade named - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

1970s rugby league team of decade named

18/08/2005 09:10:14 PM Comments (0)

Rugby league's team of the 1970s features three Immortals, an Englishman and players boasting 309 international appearances and 32 premiership medals.

Fullback Graeme Langlands, five-eighth Bob Fulton and prop Artie Beetson - three of the seven rugby league Immortals - were automatic selections in the 70s team announced in a glittering function at the Sydney Opera House.

Great Britain lock Malcolm Reilly, who played 89 first grade games for Manly, is the first Englishman to qualify for an official team of the decade.

Souths legends Bob McCarthy and Ron Coote form the second-row, with Manly stalwart Max Krilich at hooker.

The centres are Mick Cronin and Steve Rogers while former Wests and Newtown No.7 Tommy Raudonikis is the halfback.

The naming of the team coincides with the NRL's launching of the 70s round this weekend.

Some of the decade's legendary encounters have been revived, with Souths taking on the Sydney Roosters, St George (Illawarra) meeting Parramatta and Manly battling Cronulla as the campaign for the 2005 premiership intensifies.

The judges for the 70s team of the decade were Fulton, Beetson, Don Furner, Mike Gibson, Ron Massey, Neil Cadigan and David Middleton.

The team is: Fullback - Graeme Langlands Winger - Kerry Boustead Centre - Mick Cronin Centre - Steve Rogers Winger - Terry Fahey Five-eighth - Bob Fulton Halfback - Tommy Raudonikis Lock - Malcolm Reilly Second Rower - Bob McCarthy Second Rower - Ron Coote Prop - Arthur Beetson Hooker - Max Krilich Prop - John O'Neill

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2020 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news