Voss claims fifth Lions best and fairest - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Voss claims fifth Lions best and fairest

04/10/2003 09:59:16 PM Comments (0)

Brisbane AFL captain Michael Voss has capped off week-long grand final victory celebrations by claiming his fifth club best and fairest award.

The triple premiership captain polled 71 votes to win the Merrett-Murray Medal, just pipping Simon Black and Luke Power who tied for second place with 70 votes.

The 1996 Brownlow Medallist has enjoyed one of the most highly-decorated years of his stellar career after leading the Lions to an historic hat-trick of premierships.

The coveted club award will sit alongside a premiership winner's medal, the AFL Player's Association MVP and a series of media awards in a bulging trophy cabinet.

Voss previously won Brisbane's best and fairest in 1995, 1996, 2000 and 2001.

In front of more than 1,000 people at the Brisbane Convention Centre, he also collected the Don Smith Award for the most professional player at the club.

While they just failed to overall their skipper in the main award, Black and Power did not leave the function empty-handed.

Black won the Bill Cavanagh Memorial Award for the most tackles during the season while Power claimed the prestigious Best Finals Player gong along with the Bill Cavanagh Award for the most effective tackles in the season.

In other awards presented, Ashley McGrath took out Rookie of the Year, Daniel Bradshaw received the Most Improved Player honour and Alastair Lynch was crowned leading goalkicker.

The trio of Nigel Lappin, Chris Scott and Chris Johnson received life membership after a decade of service for the club.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news