Arnberger best in Pura Cup for Victoria - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Arnberger best in Pura Cup for Victoria

04/04/2006 09:19:40 PM Comments (0)

Opener Jason Arnberger has been crowned the Bushrangers' best player in the 2005-06 Pura Cup season at Cricket Victoria's gala awards.

Arnberger, 33, hit 721 runs at 45 in the domestic first-class competition and was one of the few consistent batsmen in a season where the Bushrangers' batting regularly struggled.

The right-hander, who passed the 6,000-run mark for his adopted state during the summer and also established a good partnership with rookie opener Lloyd Mash, was presented with the WM Medal, named after Victorian great and former Australian captain and opener Bill Lawry.

Middle order strokemaker David Hussey was named Victoria's best one-day player and was presented with the DM Jones Medal, after limited overs maestro Dean Jones, for his 535 runs at 76.42 (a strike-rate of over 92), which also included a match-winning century against Queensland.

Despite his struggles in the first-class season, Hussey, 28, was a stand-out in the ING Cup, and finished third on the list of leading run-scorers.

Arnberger and Hussey were presented with their awards at Tuesday's Ryder Medal count, which finished another tie for the major award in Victorian Premier Cricket.

Carlton opener Mick Allen and St Kilda left-hander Graeme Rummans each polled 34 votes to make it the third joint-medal win in the past six seasons.

Allen, 25, hit 898 runs at just under 50 for the Blues, while former Victorian top-order bat Rummans, 29, scored more than 600 runs before Christmas and ended up with 846 runs at 47.

Allen drew level with Rummans in the final round with one vote from the match against Ringwood.

Fast bowler Cathryn Fitzpatrick won the Sharon Tredrea Trophy as Victoria's best female cricketer after another great year for her state and country.

Premier Cricket team of the season: Mick Allen (Carlton), Liam Buchanan (Melbourne), Graeme Rummans (St Kilda), Warren Ayres (Dandenong), Aiden Blizzard (Richmond), Clinton Peake (captain, Geelong), Steven Spoljaric (Casey-South Melbourne), Nathan Pilon (Carlton), Ian Hewett (Richmond), Bryce McGain (Prahran), Adam Warren (St Kilda), Jonathon Fagg (Fitzroy Doncaster).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news