A-League teams into AFC Champions League - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

A-League teams into AFC Champions League

17/07/2006 03:41:27 PM Comments (0)

The Asian Football Confederation has officially approved the introduction of two A-League teams in the 2007 AFC Champions League.

The two entrants - which will be awarded to the 2006-07 A-League champions and minor premiers - have been welcomed at the expense of Thailand and Vietnam clubs.

Both countries will lose one of their two entrants in the 28-team competition from next year after the AFC executive committee ratified the Australian competition's introduction at the weekend.

The committee said the decision was made based on the technical performance and match results of the Thai and Vietnamese clubs in recent seasons of the Champions League.

The committee upheld the current format of the tournament, with 28 teams to participate and the championship to be divided into seven groups of four teams. Group winners then join the defending champion in the quarter-final stage.

If the A-League champions and minor premiers are the same club, the second Australian berth will go to the grand final loser.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news