Hewitt, Camplin, Fitz-Gerald take honours - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Hewitt, Camplin, Fitz-Gerald take honours

12/03/2003 10:32:45 PM Comments (0)

Lleyton Hewitt upstaged Ian Thorpe but there was no differentiating between aerial skier Alisa Camplin and squash champion Sarah Fitz-Gerald at Wednesday night's Australian Sport Awards.

Hewitt, who retained the tennis world No.1 ranking and won Wimbledon, edged out Thorpe for the male athlete of the year.

But judges could not split aerial skier Camplin and squash world champion Fitz-Gerald in the female category.

Camplin has had a spectacular year, this month winning the World Cup title to add to her Olympic and world championship crowns.

Fitz-Gerald's 2002 triumph in Qatar was her fifth world championship title.

The winner of 61 tour titles announced in February she had withdrawn from the Women's International Squash Players' Association tour and would instead limit herself to minor tournaments and exhibitions.

The tie is only the second time in the awards' 23-year history that the winners could not be separated.

In 1996 swimmer Susie O'Neill and triathlete Jackie Gallagher shared the award.

The Australian cricket team was named the country's best international team after a year of dominance including winning nine of 10 Tests in the calendar year and series victories over Pakistan and South Africa.

AFL yardstick Brisbane was named the best national team after winning back-to-back premierships.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news