Youth dominate Indigenous All-Star squad - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Youth dominate Indigenous All-Star squad

By Sam Lienert 30/01/2009 05:33:44 PM Comments (0)

A young Indigenous All-Star squad, including eight players yet to make their AFL debuts, has been named to play Adelaide in next weekend's biennial pre-season game in Darwin.

The 33-man squad, to be reduced to 30 on Wednesday, includes five Crows, among them dual Norm Smith medallist Andrew McLeod and fellow running defender Graham Johncock, who will take on their own club.

Other stars in the line-up include Port Adelaide's Shaun Burgoyne and Daniel Motlop, West Coast's Daniel Wirrpanda, Melbourne's Aaron Davey, Geelong's Mathew Stokes and Hawthorn's Cyril Rioli, who was part of a premiership in his first season in 2008.

There is also a large contingent of inexperienced players.

Carlton recruit Chris Yarran, the No.6 pick in last November's national draft, is one yet to play at AFL level.

The others are Adelaide's Jared Petrenko, Geelong's Nathan Djerrkura, Melbourne's Liam Jurrah, North Melbourne's Cruize Garlett, West Coast pair Liam Bedford and Adam Cockie and Western Bulldog Brennan Stack.

Notable absentees include reigning Coleman medallist and Hawks premiership star Lance Franklin and Sydney's dual Brownlow medallist Adam Goodes, who are both recovering from injury.

Goodes and fellow Swan Michael O'Loughlin have been named as coaching assistants to Chris Johnson, the former three-time Brisbane premiership player and current Lions development coach.

"I'm delighted to have the chance to coach such an impressive group of players," Johnson said.

"The young indigenous players' opportunity to train with some of the game's best such as McLeod, Burgoyne and Wirrpanda is outstanding."

Indigenous All-Star squad: Jonathon Griffin (Adelaide), Graham Johncock (Adelaide), Andrew McLeod (Adelaide), Jarrhan Jacky (Adelaide), Jared Petrenko (Adelaide), Ashley McGrath (Brisbane Lions), Albert Proud (Brisbane Lions), Chris Yarran (Carlton), Andrew Lovett (Essendon), Nathan Lovett-Murray (Essendon), Nathan Djerrkura (Geelong), Mathew Stokes (Geelong), Travis Varcoe (Geelong), Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn), Cameron Stokes (Hawthorn), Aaron Davey (Melbourne), Liam Jurrah (Melbourne), Matt Campbell (North Melbourne), Lindsay Thomas (North Melbourne), Cruize Garlett (North Melbourne), Shaun Burgoyne (Port Adelaide), Daniel Motlop (Port Adelaide), Marlon Motlop (Port Adelaide), Danyle Pearce (Port Adelaide), Raphael Clarke (St Kilda), David Wirrpanda (West Coast), Liam Bedford (West Coast), Adam Cockie (West Coast), Jarrod Harbrow (Western Bulldogs), Joshua Hill (Western Bulldogs), Malcolm Lynch (Western Bulldogs), Brennan Stack (Western Bulldogs).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news