Sandow mistake not costly for Souths - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Sandow mistake not costly for Souths

By Todd Balym 18/05/2009 07:16:36 PM Comments (0)

South Sydney will not be stripped of any competition points despite a "minor" 14-man breach in Sunday's 23-22 NRL victory over the Wests Tigers.

The Rabbitohs could still be fined by the NRL after halfback Chris Sandow ran on to collect a football that had rolled onto the field of play late in the game.

Sandow, who had been taken from the field with an ankle injury, was practising his drop kicking so he could return to play if the game was sent into extra-time when the incident occurred.

Winger Nathan Merritt however saved Sandow the hassle by booting the match-winner in the dying seconds to give Souths the victory.

South Sydney perhaps should have sealed the result earlier with controversy surrounding Benji Marshall's successful sideline conversion in the 51st minute that gave the Tigers a 22-10 lead.

Replays suggest the ball fell in front of the crossbar and the Tigers were awarded two points they didn't deserve.

While neither incident affected the final result, NRL chief operating officer Graham Annesley said both incidents were reviewed on Monday.

"It's a minor breach of the rules ... possibly a fine," said Annesley of Sandow's incident.

"The ball (Sandow) was warming up with went about three metres on the field. He simply ran on, picked it up and ran back off again.

"It happened at the opposite end of the field the play was on.

"Whilst it's a breach of the rules as no player is allowed on the field without an interchange official, it is not a 14-man situation.

"In the overall scheme of things it's a relatively minor breach compared to a regular 14-man breach."

Annesley said the referees' review had sought additional camera angles on Marshall's conversion attempt but they proved inconclusive.

A touch judge was positioned directly beneath the goal-posts for the attempt and swears the ball crossed over the black dot.

"I think it is impossible to say it did not go over," said Annesley.

"We did get additional angles from Channel Nine and that does not add much to the clarity of it.

"The ball lands about one metre in the in-goal area which tends to support it was a goal.

"The touch judge was right beside the upright looking up. It is almost impossible to imagine he did not get it right."

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2020 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news