Three young Swans released - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Three young Swans released

13/10/2009 07:47:49 PM Comments (0)

Sydney have released three youngsters from their list following the conclusion of the AFL trade week.

Ryan Brabazon, Matthew Laidlaw and Daniel O'Keefe have all been cut as the Swans continue to overhaul their line-up.

Sydney missed the finals for the first time in six years in 2009 and were heavily involved in the trading period, picking up Shane Mumford, Mark Seaby, Josh Kennedy and Ben McGlynn.

Darren Jolly and Amon Buchanan were shipped to Collingwood and Brisbane respectively, while the previously-departed Barry Hall was officially traded to the Western Bulldogs.

Premiership trio Michael O'Loughlin, Leo Barry and Jared Crouch also retired.

Brabazon, 22, played three games for the Swans, including two in 2009, but was unable to cement a position in the side.

Speedy midfielder Laidlaw played one game, while O'Keefe - taken at No.15 in the 2006 draft - was yet to make his AFL debut after a succession of injuries.

"It is always difficult making decisions about the future careers of young players," Swans chief executive Andrew Ireland said in a statement.

"On behalf of all at the club, we thank Ryan, Matthew and Daniel for their efforts in recent seasons and wish them every success in the future."

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news