Four Wallabies in Barbarians line-up - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Four Wallabies in Barbarians line-up

03/12/2009 07:09:30 AM Comments (0)

Australia will supply four players for the Barbarians side that will face the All Blacks at Twickenham on Saturday.

Winger Drew Mitchell, fly-half Matt Giteau, back-row George Smith and Wallabies captain Rocky Elsom have all been named in the starting line-up, with scrum-half Will Genia and hooker Stephen Moore named on the replacements' bench.

New Zealand skipper Richie McCaw, recently crowned the IRB 2009 world player of the year, and Cory Jane - back in his first-choice position of full-back - are the only two survivors from the All Blacks team that beat France 39-12 in Marseille last weekend.

And the Twickenham crowd won't have a second chance to see Dan Carter, who starred in New Zealand's November win over England, after coach Graham Henry left the fly-half out of his 22-man squad.

Instead, Stephen Donald will run-on at No 10 for his first start of the tour with prop John Afoa also making his first start against a star-studded Barbarians side that also features All Black wing Joe Rokocoko.

New Zealand have yet to lose on this tour, having defeated Australia (in Tokyo), Wales, Italy, England and France.

Of New Zealand's four debutants on this tour three - Zac Guildford, Ben Smith and Tamati Ellison - will start while Mike Delany is on the bench.

The Barbarians re captained by South Africa World Cup-winning second row Victor Matfield and features several of his fellow Springboks in star wing Bryan Habana, Jacques Fourie, Fourie du Preez and Bismarck du Plessis.

The starting team, which was traditionally composed of players from the Britain and Ireland, features just three northern hemisphere names in Wales centre Jamie Roberts and Italian forwards Carlo del Fava and Salvatore Perugini.

Barbarians coach Nick Mallett, currently in charge of Italy, said: "We have the benefit of a full week together ahead of the match.

"Knowing the talent that has been assembled among the 22 players, we expect to be very competitive and give the All Blacks and the Twickenham crowd a real taste of Barbarian rugby at its best," the former South Africa coach added.

Teams for the non-cap international between the Barbarians and New Zealand at Twickenham on Saturday, 1430GMT (Sunday 0130 AEDT):


Drew Mitchell (AUS); Joe Rokocoko (NZL), Jacques Fourie (RSA), Jamie Roberts (WAL), Bryan Habana (RSA); Matt Giteau (AUS), Fourie du Preez (RSA); George Smith (AUS), Schalk Burger (RSA), Rocky Elsom (AUS); Victor Matfield (RSA, capt), Carlo del Fava (ITA); WP Nel (RSA/uncappped); Bismarck du Plessis (RSA), Salvatore Perugini (ITA)

Reps: Stephen Moore (AUS), Tenai Mtawarira (RSA), Quintin Geldenhuys (ITA), Andy Powell (WAL), Will Genia (AUS), Morne Steyn (RSA), Leigh Halfpenny (WAL)

New Zealand

Cory Jane; Zac Guildford, Tamati Ellison, Luke McAllister, Ben Smith; Stephen Donald, Brendon Leonard; Rodney So'oialo, Richie McCaw (capt), Liam Messam; Anthony Boric, Jason Eaton; John Afoa, Corey Flynn, Wyatt Crockett

Replacements: Andrew Hore, Neemia Tialata, Adam Thomson, Tanerau Latimer, Jimmy Cowan, Mike Delany, Sitiveni Sivivatu

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news