Giteau makes Rugby's team of the decade - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Giteau makes Rugby's team of the decade

07/01/2010 12:36:56 AM Comments (0)

Australian Matt Giteau is the sole Wallaby named in Rugby World magazine's team of the decade.

The 27-year-old was named in the centres for the team, which is skippered by England's 2003 World Cup winning captain Martin Johnson.

The English magazine named Ireland skipper Brian O'Driscoll as the overall player of the decade, ahead of All Blacks captain Richie McCaw - the only player to win the IRB award twice.

Giteau being the only Wallaby in the magazine's team of the decade means Australia have the same number of representatives as minnows Italy, one, and three less players named than Argentina.

New Zealand has four players named, world champions South Africa three and England four including Johnson and star five-eighth Jonny Wilkinson.

Rugby World's team of the decade (15-1): Mils Muliaina (NZL), Jason Robinson (ENG), Brian O'Driscoll (IRL), Matt Giteau (AUS), Shane Williams (WAL), Dan Carter (NZL), Agustin Pichot (ARG), Sergio Parisse (ITA), Richie McCaw (NZL), Richard Hill (ENG), Martin Johnson (ENG capt), Victor Matfield (RSA), Carl Hayman (NZL), John Smit (RSA), Gethin Jenkins (WAL). Res: Rodrigo Roncero (ARG), Mario Ledesma (ARG), Sylvain Marconnet (FRA), Juan-Martin Fernandez Lobbe (ARG), Fourie Du Preez (RSA), Jonny Wilkinson (ENG), Yannick Jauzion (FRA), Juan Martin Hernandez (ARG)

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news