Wallaroos out to build on sevens success - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Wallaroos out to build on sevens success

19/07/2010 02:00:56 PM Comments (0)

A rare double looms for eight members of the Australian squad named to play in next month's women's rugby World Cup in England.

Wallaroos coach John Manenti named his 26-player squad for the tournament, including eight who won the women's sevens World Cup earlier this year.

Cheryl Soon, Debby Hodgkinson, Alex Hargreaves, Tobie McGann, Tui Orbsby, Nicole Beck, Tricia Brown and Ruan Sims were all part of the squad which toppled New Zealand to claim the inaugural women's sevens championship in Dubai last March.

And Hargreaves is hopeful that experience will prove invaluable when the Australians begin a tough campaign on August 20.

"I definitely think our success in Sevens will shine through into 15s," the ACT backrower said.

"We've learned how to pull a team together and more importantly, even though it was the shortened version of the game, we've learned how to beat New Zealand."

Manenti's squad also features four uncapped players with the Australians drawn into a tough pool for the tournament which runs until September 5.

The Wallaroos face reigning world champions New Zealand, South Africa and Six Nations champions Wales in their pool, with the top four on points across three pools of four qualifying for the semi-finals.

The squad will assemble on August 9 to prepare for the tournament with Manenti to name his captain on that date.

Wallaroos World Cup squad: Iliseva Batibasaga (Qld), Nicole Beck (NSW), Tricia Brown (Qld), Cheyenne Campbell (Qld), Rebecca Clough (WA), Kristy Giteau (ACT), Alexandra Hargreaves (ACT), Ashleigh Hewson (ACT), Debby Hodgkinson (WA), Tobie McGann (NSC), Danielle Meskell (NSW), Cobie-Jane Morgan (NSW), Lindsay Morgan (ACT), Tui Ormsby (NSW), Shannon Parry (Qld), Silei Poluleuligaga (Qld), Kate Porter (ASRU), Chris Ross (NSW), Se'ei Sa'u (Qld), Megan Shanahan (NSW), Ruan Sims (NSW), Cheryl Soon (NSW), Rebecca Trethowan (NSW), Caroline Vakalahi (ASRU), Margaret Watson (NSW), Sharni Williams (ACT).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news