Aussie wheelchair rugby captains named - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Aussie wheelchair rugby captains named

25/08/2010 01:07:28 PM Comments (0)

Queenslanders Cameron Carr and Ryan Scott have been named co-captains of the Australian wheelchair rugby team for next month's world championships in Vancouver.

The Australian Steelers head coach Brad Dubberley said the team was one of the best he had seen and confident of reversing their loss to the USA in the gold medal match at the 2008 Beijing Paralympics.

"In my mind, this is the best team Australia has ever assembled for a world championships," Dubberley said on Wednesday.

"It feels like were on the verge of something special, and the whole team is very excited about what lies ahead. But we know there is a massive job to do."

Currently ranked second in the world, the nine-strong Australian team features six members who competed in Beijing.

The Americans are the current world No.1 team and reigning world and Paralympic champions.

The rival teams have met five times since their fierce Paralympic gold medal clash, with the Americans holding a 4-1 advantage.

The Steelers recently claimed victory at the Canada Cup which puts them in good stead for the championships.

Australian Steelers: Naz Erdem (VIC), Ryley Batt (NSW), Josh Hose (VIC), Jason Lees (VIC), Bryce Alman (VIC), Ryan Scott (QLD, co-capt), Steve Porter (SA), Cameron Carr (QLD, co-capt), Andrew Harrison (VIC).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news