Cats dominate All-Australian squad - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Cats dominate All-Australian squad

31/08/2010 09:47:49 PM Comments (0)

Geelong will again feature prominently in the AFL All-Australian team, with the Cats leading the number of nominations.

The Cats have seven players in the squad of 40 for the team, which will be announced at a function in Melbourne on September 13.

Minor premiers Collingwood have the next most players in the squad with five, while fellow qualifying finalists St Kilda and the Western Bulldogs have four apiece.

Geelong dominated the final All-Australian team in 2007 with nine selections and also had the most picks in 2008 with eight.

The Cats and Saints had five picks apiece last year.

The Geelong players in this year's squad are Gary Ablett, Corey Enright, Paul Chapman, Steve Johnson, James Kelly, Harry Taylor and Joel Selwood.

Only Kelly and Taylor are yet to receive All-Australian selection.

Collingwood's squad members are Alan Didak, Darren Jolly, Harry O'Brien, Scott Pendlebury and Dane Swan.

Jolly, O'Brien and Pendlebury have never made the final All-Australian team.

Bottom-eight teams Adelaide, Port Adelaide and Brisbane did not have any players in the 40-man squad.

AFL All-Australian team nominations:

Chris Judd (Carlton), Alan Didak (Collingwood), Darren Jolly (Collingwood), Harry O'Brien (Collingwood), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Dane Swan (Collingwood), Dustin Fletcher (Essendon), Jobe Watson (Essendon), David Mundy (Fremantle), Matthew Pavlich (Fremantle), Aaron Sandilands (Fremantle), Gary Ablett (Geelong), Paul Chapman (Geelong), Corey Enright (Geelong), Steve Johnson (Geelong), James Kelly (Geelong), Harry Taylor (Geelong), Joel Selwood (Geelong), Lance Franklin (Hawthorn), Luke Hodge (Hawthorn), James Frawley (Melbourne), Brad Green (Melbourne), Mark Jamar (Melbourne), Brent Harvey (North Melbourne), Brady Rawlings (North Melbourne), Andrew Swallow (North Melbourne), Brett Deledio (Richmond), Jack Riewoldt (Richmond), Nick Dal Santo (St Kilda), Brendon Goddard (St Kilda), Lenny Hayes (St Kilda), Leigh Montagna (St Kilda), Adam Goodes (Sydney), Nick Malceski (Sydney), Shane Mumford (Sydney Swans), Mark Le Cras (West Coast), Matthew Boyd (Western Bulldogs), Adam Cooney, (Western Bulldogs), Barry Hall (Western Bulldogs), Brian Lake (Western Bulldogs)

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news