Cronin junior to debut for Dragons - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Cronin junior to debut for Dragons

David Beniuk 08/02/2011 06:44:07 PM Comments (0)

St George Illawarra have named the son of Parramatta great Mick Cronin in a squad containing 10 of their premiership stars for Sunday's Charity Shield clash with South Sydney.

Peter Cronin is among four recruits making their debuts for the Dragons, joining former Manly and Cronulla forward Adam Cuthbertson, Wests Tigers signing David Gower and ex-Penrith forward Daniel Penese at ANZ Stadium.

The traditional fixture will also mark the return from long-term injury for prop Dan Hunt (achilles), who has signed a new deal with the club, and outside back Ratu Peni Tagive (knee).

Exciting young Dragons hooker Cameron King, who played one NRL match last season and was recently chosen in Ricky Stuart's NSW Blues in waiting squad has been given the opportunity to start at hooker.

Assistant coach Steve Price will be in charge of the team with Wayne Bennett on NRL All Stars duty.

The Rabbitohs have named their strongest available line-up, with a long list of players sidelined by injury.

Sam Burgess (shoulder), Greg Inglis (shoulder/hip), Issac Luke (shoulder), Michael Crocker (knee), Luke Stuart (shoulder), Jason Clark (hamstring) and Blake Judd (hamstring) are all out but are expected to be fit for the round one match against the Sydney Roosters.

Prop Ben Ross will back up from the bench following his first game in nearly two years last weekend following a neck injury.

Meanwhile, Hunt has agreed to a contract extension that will keep him at the Dragons until the end of 2013.

Sunday's game will be his first since rupturing his achilles in the warm-up to the round 11 clash against Canberra at WIN Stadium last May.

"It is pretty exciting times for me at the moment, to be returning to the field and also to secure my future here at the Dragons for a couple of extra years," Hunt said.

"It's been a long recovery road but all the hard work will have paid off come Sunday when I get out there on the field."

The Rabbitohs will be looking to take home the Charity Shield for the fourth consecutive year. Kick-off is at 7pm.

South Sydney: Rhys Wesser, Chris McQueen, Dylan Farrell, Junior Vaivai, Fetuli Talanoa, John Sutton, Chris Sandow, Scott Geddes, Beau Falloon, Roy Asotasi (capt), Eddy Pettybourne, Shannan McPherson, Ben Lowe. Interchange: Kane Morgan, Malcolm Webster, Shaune Corrigan, Josh Mansour, Adam Reynolds, Nathan Peats, Dave Tyrrell, Deon Apps, Matt Mundine, George Burgess, Ben Ross, Adrian Ha'angana.

St George Illawarra: Darius Boyd, Ratu Peni Tagive, Mark Gasnier, Matt Cooper, Jason Nightingale, Nathan Fien, Ben Hornby (capt), Dan Hunt, Cameron King, Michael Weyman, Beau Scott, Ben Creagh, Matt Prior. Interchange: Michael Greenfield, Trent Merrin, Jake Marketo, Nick Emmett, Jack Bosden, Bronx Goodwin, Jon Green, David Gower, Daniel Penese, Adam Cuthbertson, Mitch Rein, Peter Cronin, Nathan Jones.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news