Bombers miss out on AFL All Australian nod - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Bombers miss out on AFL All Australian nod

Sam Lienert 06/09/2011 05:53:37 PM Comments (0)

Essendon was the only AFL finalist without an All Australian nominee as the top five clubs dominated the 40-man squad named on Tuesday.

The likes of Bombers captain Jobe Watson and young key position star Michael Hurley were overlooked, with injuries not helping their cause, Watson playing just 16 games for the home and away season and Hurley 17.

The top two clubs, Collingwood and Geelong, had six nominees each, including potential All Australian team first-timer James Kelly for the Cats.

Magpies key forward Travis Cloke is also among 25 players in contention to make the AFL's team of the year for the first time, along with midfielder Dale Thomas and defender Ben Reid.

Leon Davis, included as a forward in 2009, is vying for his second All Australian honour, a tribute to his reinvention as a defender this year after being dropped for last year's grand final replay.

West Coast had five nominees, recognition of their stunning rise from last year's wooden spoon to fourth this season, with the return to fitness and form of veterans Dean Cox, Andrew Embley and Darren Glass noted by selectors.

There were four Hawthorn players nominated, including midfield veteran Sam Mitchell, and four Carlton players, including Brownlow Medal fancies Chris Judd and Marc Murphy.

It meant the top five clubs had 25 of the 40 squad inclusions.

Among the notable omissions were Hawthorn star small forward Cyril Rioli, not helped by playing just 16 games.

Sydney ruckman Shane Mumford was another overlooked despite a superb finish to the year, with Cox and North Melbourne's Todd Goldstein the two ruckmen in the squad.

The Kangaroos had four nominees, also including midfielders Andrew Swallow and Daniel Wells and forward Drew Petrie.

St Kilda had three, including potential All Australian first-timer Stephen Milne, while dual Brownlow Medallist Adam Goodes was the Swans' only squad inclusion.

Along with the Bombers, Brisbane, Melbourne and Port Adelaide's disappointing seasons meant no nominees, with wooden spooners Gold Coast represented by captain Gary Ablett.

The 22-man team will be named on September 19, with the coach to be the premiership-winning coach.

Squad: Scott Thompson (Adelaide), Eddie Betts, Chris Judd, Marc Murphy, Heath Scotland (Carlton), Travis Cloke, Leon Davis, Scott Pendlebury, Ben Reid, Dane Swan, Dale Thomas (Collingwood), Nathan Fyfe, Luke McPharlin (Fremantle), Corey Enright, Steve Johnson, James Kelly, Matthew Scarlett, Joel Selwood, Harry Taylor (Geelong), Gary Ablett (Gold Coast), Grant Birchall, Lance Franklin, Josh Gibson, Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn), Todd Goldstein, Drew Petrie, Andrew Swallow, Daniel Wells (North Melbourne), Brett Deledio (Richmond), Nick Dal Santo, Sam Fisher, Stephen Milne (St Kilda), Adam Goodes (Sydney), Dean Cox, Andrew Embley, Darren Glass, Josh Kennedy, Matt Priddis (West Coast), Matthew Boyd, Robert Murphy (Western Bulldogs).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2020 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news