Three new faces in Scotland squad - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Three new faces in Scotland squad

20/01/2011 02:43:34 AM Comments (0)

Scotland coach Andy Robinson has called up three uncapped players into a 34-man training squad for the Six Nations tournament and given recalls to Johnnie Beattie and Simon Danielli.

The trio of new faces consist of Bath back Jack Cuthbert, Glasgow loosehead prop Jon Welsh and his fellow Warrior Rob Harley, who can play at flanker or lock.

On the minus side, centre Graeme Morrison is unavailable due to a knee injury sustained playing for Glasgow against Edinburgh on December 27, while Chris Cusiter (Glasgow), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson and Jim Hamilton (both Gloucester) were also not considered due to injury.

Beattie and Danielli return to the squad after missing the autumn Tests, which featured a heavy defeat to New Zealand and wins over world champions South Africa and Samoa.

"There's always excitement in the air at this time of year as we look forward to the Six Nations Championship," said Robinson.

"Selection reflects both current form and the performances of a number of players during our matches in the autumn.

"I've been impressed by Robert Harley since I first saw him play in a pro-team back-up game some seasons back.

"He has performed consistently for Glasgow this season in a position where we have strength and there is considerable competition for a starting place.

"Jon Welsh is another who has benefited from raising his game in the face of intense competition and has a good work ethic.

"Jack Cuthbert has had a really good couple of months having won his place in the Bath first XV.

"He was also on duty during the Nations Cup in Romania last summer and I've said often enough that players who perform for Scotland A are very much in the frame."

Scotland have won five of their last six games and begin the Six Nations against France in Paris on February 5.

Scotland squad:

Backs: Joe Ansbro (Northampton Saints), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Jack Cuthbert (Bath), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Grove (Worcester Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Rory Lamont (Toulon), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais) and Nikki Walker (Ospreys).

Forwards: John Barclay, Johnnie Beattie (both Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, Ross Ford (both Edinburgh), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall, Robert Harley (all Glasgow Warriors), Nathan Hines (Leinster), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh) and Richie Vernon and Jon Welsh (both Glasgow Warriors).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2021 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news